The Healer’s Apprentice

the-healers-apprentice

Do you enjoy fairy tales?  If so, Melanie Dickerson’s Hagenheim Fairy Tale Romance Series is definitely for you!  I have been hearing and reading raving reviews about these books for a while now.  I knew I wanted to read them, but with so many books out there from favorite authors to spend my reading budget on, buying these weren’t on the top of my list.  Thank you Lord for Amazon’s timely and amazing sales.  I received an amazing deal on her first five novels.  Now, after reading the first one, The Healer’s Apprentice, all of Melanie Dickerson’s books have moved to my must-buy list.

The Healer’s Apprentice is, a creative re-telling of Sleeping Beauty, set in the medieval time-period.  I was drawn into the story from the first page as the town people eagerly awaited a glimpse of the Duke’s sons returning home.  We are introduced to many notable characters in these first few pages.  Melanie Dickerson has created such wonderful characters, full of a variety of personalities, dreams and convictions.  I was drawn into their individual stories and couldn’t wait to see how the story would unfold.

I love the way fairy tale meets God’s Word in this story.  We see it in the way the main characters strive, and struggle, to live lives full of integrity, based on God’s Word.  My favorite part is how Melanie Dickerson uses scripture in a way that keeps the feeling and, for lack of a better word, ambiance of the known fairy tale, while using God’s Word to bring comfort, guidance and clarification to the problem at hand.

It is a beautiful story that I just wanted to live in.  I’m looking forward to re-visiting this one in the future – after catching up on all of her books that I haven’t read yet.  Next on my list is The Merchant’s Daughter – a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast!  I would love to hear your thoughts.!

Leave a Reply

