Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey (And…My 1st Giveaway)

SabotagedSM1

It has been too long since I’ve reviewed a book on my blog, but with the final book in Dani Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage Series out, I had to come out of hibernation to tell you all about it.  (Well, not all about it…I don’t like spoilers, so I try really hard in my reviews never to reveal too much!!)  Details about my very first blog giveaway can be found at the end of this review!!  🙂

Have you read any of Dani’s Alasan Courage series yet?  I cannot say enough good things about these books…I LOVE them!

One of the things that I love most about Dani Pettrey’s writing is her characters.  You cannot help but connect with each of them.  They welcome you into their world and cause you to wish this place and these people were real.  And by the end of the series, you believe they really are and you’re ready to go meet them face-to-face because you want the privilege of calling them your friends!  The relationships between the McKenna siblings, their friends and their love interests, are sweet and true to life.  They each have their quirks and their struggles, but the McKenna’s are a great example of the love and support that God calls us to be to one another.  What a beautiful way to encourage us to strive to be the people God has created us to be.

I absolutely love that this series was set in Alaska because Alaska holds some special memories for me.  Although I am aware of the vastness of Alaska itself, I was surprised by the vast variety of topics and issues that have been broached in this series.  I also loved learning more about the different types of adventures available and the knowledge required to enjoy them safely in Alaska.

I read Christian fiction because I love that the stories have faith threads that often cause me to see God or my relationship with Him in a new light.  They also cause me to see others’ relationship with God or lack thereof in a different and more compassionate way.  Dani does a beautiful job of weaving faith in God into the lives of her characters.  She allows that faith to be put to the test.  The faith and struggles she writes about mirror real life struggles that people face and how they choose to allow their faith to either support and carry them through or to question that faith and it’s place their lives.  Faith issues are not simple or cut and dry.  I have found that many things affect people’s thoughts and feelings regarding trusting God.  And although infinitely worth it, deciding to follow Jesus comes with struggles of its own.  I love how Dani explorers these issues and grapples with them throughout her books to come to real answers in the desire to believe.

That brings us to Sabotaged, Reef and Kirra’s story.  I love how Reef, who has been the self-proclaimed black sheep of the family, has been drawn home, not only to the McKenna’s, but to God.  Sabotaged begins with him in this sweet spot of new trust in Jesus.  We first met Kirra in Silenced and I really enjoyed getting to know her better in Sabotaged.  Due to some really deep fear issues, Kirra struggles with trust, both of people and of God.  Even so, her devotion to her friends was evident in Silenced and this made it that much sweeter to witness their devotion to her in Sabotaged.  Having had Alaskan Malamutes as pets growing up, I loved that this story was set along the Iditarod trail.  And the suspense of trying to beat the clock in order to save not only Kirra’s cousin but many innocent Alaskan people, had me unable to put the book down.  I have loved every single book in this series, but after having read Reef and Kirra’s story I believe this one may just be my favorite.

I highly recommend the Alaskan Courage Series.  If you haven’t read them yet, why not??  May I recommend starting with the first one, Submerged?  These books can be read as stand-alone books, but the richness of this wonderful family and their story is best experienced when they are read in order.  I’m not generally someone who re-reads books, but I plan to start over with Submerged myself as I eagerly await the first book in her new series, Chesapeake Valor in 2016.

Sabotaged Giveaway

I am very excited to announce my very first blog giveaway!!

WHAT YOU WILL WIN:  A copy of Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey!!  (If you haven’t started the series yet, we’ll be happy to send you the first book in the series, Submerged instead!)

DEADLINE TO ENTER:  11:59 pm on Thursday, February 19th, 2015

HOW TO ENTER:  Leave a comment on my blog telling me if you’ve read any of Dani’s books…if so, what do you love about them…if not, what intrigues you about them?

Winner will be announced on Friday, February 20th!!  So, be sure to check back to see if you’ve won!!

26 thoughts on “Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey (And…My 1st Giveaway)

  1. I have not read any yet. I always like when siblings are focused on & how their faith is intertwined. Also,how each one is different & how they respond differently. Also, enjoy the setting.

  2. i have read all of Dani’s books! She is one of my favorite authors. I love her books because of the mystery aspect of each of them. She’s very good at making you think you know who the killer is, but you’re completely off base. I love trying to figure everything out! I also just really love the McKenna family!

  3. I have read Submerged. I also really enjoy her characters and the interaction. That reminds me of the wonderful characters of Dee Henderson’s books. Ms. Pettrey mentioned being encourage by Ms. Henderson and I enjoy this similarity in their writings. I would really enjoy receiving a copy of Sabatoged.

    • I agree Charlyn…Dee Henderson is my favorite author. I love that Dani uses similar aspects, such as all of the family appearing in each book and the way she weaves faith in God into each story in similar fashion to Dee.
  4. I read the first one so far and have the next one in the series waiting in the wings…. but I don’t have Sabotaged and would love to! I like the mystery/romance combo of Pettrey’s writing, as well as the Alaskan setting 🙂

  5. I own the first four books but have been waiting for this final book to come out before I read them (I don’t like waiting a long time in between books in a series). Would love to win this one and finish my collection and start reading this series that I have heard so much about!

  6. I love, love , love this series. I would love to win this fourth book and get people in my library interested in Dani Pettrey. I got the first one free on Kindle and was able to read the other two on Overdrive through my library. Excellent books..

    • If you loved 1-3, then you definitely want to read 4, Silenced (Kayden’s story) before you read 5, Sabotaged (Reef’s story). I love sharing Dani’s books whenever possible and a library is a great place to do that! 🙂

  7. I have read the first 4 books in this series and absolutely loved them! I’ve been a fan of mystery and suspense for years and Dani’s stories are the perfect blend of romance and suspense. Thank you for the chance to win and read book 5!

  8. I have read the first four books and absolutely love them. The characters are honest and genuine. I am a mystery addict and was so excited to found a great series that included Faith and did not have alot of bad language. Great plots and awesome characters. I cannot wait to read the 5th book and hope there are many more to come. Thanks

    • Agreed Pamela! I LOVE them!! Have you read Dee Henderson’s O’Malley series yet? If not, you should try them – start with the prequel, Danger in the Shadows. If you like Dani, you’ll like Dee! Fun fact, Dee mentored Dani!! 🙂

  9. I have read every one of the books in this series. I love the setting, Alaska, along with the family and all the threads that make up the different characters in each book. I loved the connection to Russia in the 1st book and would love to win this book!

  10. I haven’t read any of her books but have been interested in starting this series! I love Alaska and I need a new book to read. Perfect timing!

Leave a Reply

